Home » Bread » My Husband vs the Bread Machine

My Husband vs the Bread Machine

Let me start this story by telling you a little about us. First, I am incredibly detail-oriented. I can tell you minor details from books I read ten years ago and professionally I can identify data errors by sight rather than through analysis. My husband is the exact opposite, suffering from what gamers would call a low Spot Check. Although this means he cannot find an object when it is six inches away, he is a brilliant man, a trained analytical chemist, and a wonderful cook.

We have friends over on Wednesday night on a regular basis and this week, we had pulled pork. I wanted to make rolls and he promised to run the bread machine for me and when I got home, I would shape and bake the rolls.

Around 4 pm, he called me, very confused. He had added the flour to the water and it had dissolved. Confused, I asked him which flour he had used. I had visions of him using my cake flour, or that bag of pastry flour I’d scored for a quarter. He told me he had used the flour on the window sill.

Remember when I said I was very detail-oriented? Yeah, I don’t label anything in my kitchen, it’s just in clear bins of various shapes and sizes. This is because I can tell the difference between salt and sugar, between flour and wheat flour, by sight and smell. When he said he had used the flour on the window sill, I got a sinking feeling. I asked him to humor me and taste what was in the bin.

He had put three cups of powdered sugar into the bread machine. I identified the bread flour as being in a bright orange bag and the second try resulted in wonderful rolls.

Unfortunately, the ravening hordes ate all the rolls before I remembered to photograph them, but they were a wonderful addition to dinner.

Buttery Buns

This recipe adapted from Cookistry.com

2 t bread machine or instant yeast
3 C Bread Flour (approximately 14 oz)
2 T white sugar
1 t flakey salt
½ stick or 4 T butter
1 C water

1 egg for eggwash

Load all ingredients but the egg for the eggwash into the bread machine in the order recommended by the manufacturer. Use the dough cycle on your machine to mix, kneed and raise the dough. (The dough setting on my machine runs 1.5 hour.)

When the dough cycle is complete, turn your oven to 350 degrees to preheat while you shape the rolls.

Turn the dough out onto a floured surface. Divide into sixteen pieces for small dinner rolls or twelve pieces for something closer in size to a hamburger bun. Place the rolls onto a sheet pan lined with parchment paper and let it rest until the oven is hot.

Beat an egg with a tablespoon of water and brush each roll with eggwash. Bake the rolls for approximately 25 minutes or until golden brown.

Serve warm with butter (or with slow cooked bbq pork)

Leave a Reply

